Annandale, Mapped

These maps, spanning nearly 60 years, show Annandale's rapid 18th century expansion. During this time period, the area encompassing today's Annandale Triangle was called Cedar Hill. Annandale's industry was centered around the Saw Kill Creek. The creek, one of the most important natural features in the area, powered all of Annandale's mills. Today's creek shows extensive signs of its industrial past, from dams to stone foundations. Explore the maps below:


1815 Thomson & Steenbergh Map of Annandale




This 1815 map shows three mills along the Saw Kill. Although the map is severely out of scale, today's Annandale Triangle is located between Armstrong's Saw Mill and Lyman's Fulling Mill.

Armstrong's Grist & Saw Mill, located on the mouth of the Saw Kill, allowed for finished products to be directly loaded onto small ships during high tide. Although remains of this mill site have yet to be discovered, it is assumed that the mill stood on the land now occupied by Bard College's Field Station due to the area's level surface topography.



In 1833, the land we know as Blithewood was purchased by John C. Cruger. Within 2 years, Cruger sold the estate for $19,000 to a wealthy North Carolinian, Robert Donaldson. The Saw Kill mill sites were so desirable that Cruger retained ownership of the mills and the land along the Saw Kill. Cruger chose to reside nearby; he relocated to his namesake island, Cruger's Island.